Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

9781101934715Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places will love the New York Timesbestselling novel Girl in Pieces.

“A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you’ve read the last page.”Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

REVIEW: A Girl in Pieces is an intriguing and heart-rending book. Kathleen Glasgow highlights her own experience as a self-harmer to paint an authentic portrayal of trauma and healing. Characters were well rounded, and Glasgow makes it easy to empathize with Charlie’s decisions, even when it’s equally easy to see that they’ll turn out poorly. In addition to the topic of self-harm, Girl in Pieces paints an unflinching but empathetic portrayal of people dealing with loss and substance abuse, issues around what it means to be an enabler figure strongly into the story, too. Charlie is a relatable, interesting narrator who struggles to make a new life but doesn’t fall into annoying self-pity. The book is on the long side and would have benefited from more details about Charlie’s backstory with her mom and dad, but her journey will stay with readers long after they’ve finished the book. While most of the book is well-grounded, there are some aspects that stretch believability–Charlie finds a job at the second place she asks, and despite the drama built up around whether she’ll react to stress by cutting again, the temptation to do so never comes off as very difficult to resist. Nonetheless, A Girl in Pieces is a good book that I would recommend for people who have struggled with self-harm and homelessness.

***(received this book from bloggingforbooks.com as an exchange for an honest review)***

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s