Posted in Uncategorized

Blog Tour: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Genre: Young adult, historical, paranormal  

Publishing Info: ARC from Hodder & Stoughton

Pages: 448

Star Rating: 4/5

Back Cover Summary:

Kerri Maniscalco introduces her next series, a dark tale of a beautiful young witch, a troubled demon, and their epic romance, set against a 19th century Italian backdrop.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to discover who did this, and to seek vengeance at any cost—even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, the outlier among the seven demon brethren, always choosing duty over pleasure. He’s been tasked by his master with investigating a series of women’s murders on the island. When Emilia and Wrath’s fates collide, it’s clear this disturbing mystery will take a bewitching turn…

KINGDOM OF THE WICKED. KINGDOM OF THE WICKED. KINGDOM OF THE WICKED.

Happy Spooktober and Welcome.

Bare with me. This is the first time that I have participated in a blog tour and it is truly nerve wrecking. Hopefully, it will get easier along the way. So a big shout out to Terminal Tours for allowing me to take part in this witchy extravaganza. 

The cover truly caught my eye and I just had to read it. I don’t want to give too much away. I want you guys to be as excited as I was when reading this book. So I will keep it short.

This is the first book I have read from Kerri Maniscalco and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The cover truly caught my eye. Pretty much, anything with a skull will attract my attention. But this book…

Kingdom of the Wicked is a fast paced, page-turner that had me enthralled. From beginning till the end, it will have you on a rollercoaster ride wanting more and more. If a book does not grab my attention from the beginning, its quite hard for me to get into it. But Kerri doesn’t disappoint. This book is set in the 19th century, in Sicily. It’s about family, (delicious food) sacrifice and how far you are willing to go, to not only seek justice but protect the ones you love the most. I loved the  bond between Emilia and Vittoria, despite their differences.  As goddess-descended witches (streghe), the sisters are particularly at risk from the (Malvagi), a brotherhood of demon princes. With a feud  between the streghe and Malvagi, the only protections the sisters have are their blessed amulets, which they can never take off. Witches  in this book live secretly among humans and for a good reason. Especially, during that time, the church controlled what society could accept to be normal.

You  will meet their grandmother, head of the family (who has her own secrets) and the glue that keeps everything together and their parents, who barely are present. You then meet Vittoria, who is outgoing, adventurous, and a daring. Then there’s Emilia, who is the total opposite at first.  Fueled by anger and pain, Emilia embarks on a journey to find the person responsible for the murder of her sister. Emilia is a strong character and when she meets Wrath, I just knew things were going to get better. She will do anything, even seek out the very ones who she should fear the most. Throughout the book, you will meet The Wicked, the books villains. Some you will hate and some you will love. Wrath, (my fave) is the main antagonist/kinda love  interest. He is sinful and cocky and dare I say kind at times.  He is one of the seven demon princes of Hell (Pride, Greed, Envy, Lust, Gluttony, sloth) each will have their own motives and secrets when it comes to the death of Emilia’s sister. Along the way, Emilia will learn new things, not only about herself, but that of her sister and her family.

I would have liked more magic to have been involved as an aid to Emilia. You will get glimpses of the different types of witches and spells in this book. Hopefully, in the next installment there will be more spells or incantations involved, that will give Emilia’s witchy background the spotlight. I also wanted to know more about the grandmother and her parents and how hard (or easy) it is to live among humans and hide who you really are. The ending will leave you wanting more and even wanting a different outcome, but I am pretty sure it is all part of Kerri’s master plan. 

This book is filled with good food, humor, sadness, a sprinkle here and there of betrayal, but most evidently—growth. With twist and turns and a great mystery, kerri manages to take the reader into a forbidden world filled with magical goodness. Fans of Practical Magic, Charmed, and Lucifer will love this book. I highly recommend this book to old and new fans of Kerri Maniscalco, who has ended up on my list of favorite new authors. 

I am already ahead of you guys. I wanted to keep things as authentic as possible when choosing actors. each actor that I chose is Italian or of Italian descent. so If this is ever turned into a movie or series, I have gathered a few people I would like to play these wicked characters. (I will update with Photos)

Emilia: Alexandra Daddario

Vittoria: Emanuela Postacchini

Nonna Maria: Sophia Loren

Nicoletta (mother): Marisa Tomei

The father: Michael Imperioli

Wraith: D.J. Cotrona

Envy: Chris Evans (just cause)

Pride: Joe Mangeniello

Lust: Justin Baldoni

sloth: Erik Fellows

Greed: Adam Bucci

Gluttony: Matthew Del Negro

Brother Carmine: Armand Assante

Antonio: Michael Galante

Domenico Junior: Matthew Daddario

Carolina Grimaldi: Monica Belluci

Claudia: Irene Casagrande

Kerri Maniscalco grew up in a semi-haunted house outside NYC where her fascination with gothic settings began. In her spare time she reads everything she can get her hands on, cooks all kinds of food with her family and friends, and drinks entirely too much tea while discussing life’s finer points with her cats.

She is the #1 NYT and USA Today bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series and the forthcoming Kingdom of the Wicked.

For an extended bio, please read on below!

Follow Kerri on Twitter and Instagram where she’s always ready to talk fictional crushes:

@KerriManiscalco

instagram.com/kerrimaniscalco

Author:

Lover of books w/a wonderous imagination,dream filled wanderlust,lust for inspiration.Bachelors in History.Masters in Women's History

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s