Reviews

Book Review: “The Great Hunt” by Wendy Higgins

“Kill the beast. Win the girl.”
If this sort of logic doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, I’d recommend not picking up this book.
While I had my own reservations about this book (Exhibit A mentioned above), “The Great Hunt” was not what I was expecting. At all.
This isn’t Wendy Higgins’ first book, but I hesitate to pick something up to compare it to. While “The Great Hunt” isn’t the worst YA fiction released (yet), it sure won’t be on my end-of-the-year lists.
I struggle to really understand why Higgins decided to reimagine the Brothers Grimm fairy tale “The Singing Bone” and make it into a full fledged novel. Sometimes these things work, but in the case of “The Great Hunt,” readers are better off reading the short tale and skipping the novel.
The heart of the book rests in Princess Aerity, who has been auctioned off as a reward for whomever slays the monstrous beast that has attacked Eurona. It’s this core plot point that sets off a dramatic, unpredictable and unsatisfying journey as we meet a hunter, a beast and everything in between.
Princess Aerity is devastated by the thought of marrying a stranger, (she was meant to marry for love!) and soon meets Paxton Seabolt, the mysterious hunter extraordinaire, and by all accounts, cringe worthy. The trope of girl falls for bad boy who doesn’t treat her right instead of actual guy who treats her well has been run into the ground and Higgins seems to be following her predecessors.
The characters in the novel are stretched thin to create “depth” and I searched endlessly to find her characters likable and not worked 10 times over, but the only part of likability they offer is the surface. And even then, Princess Aerity’s potential to be a heroine falls flat to the romance that drowns the pages. She could have been great.
There’s this expectancy with Paxton throughout this novel that turned me away from him immediately. It was not his own expectancy of the princess, but from the reader. We are expected to forgive his poor treatment of Princess Aerity when we find out why he treats her negatively. He’s obviously broken emotionally, so our hearts are supposed to bleed and understand.
It’s a continuous trend and has been for a long, long time. It’s a huge reason why the ending, the abrupt cliffhanger, left a bad taste in my mouth. I would hope Higgins tries harder to redeem his character than throwing a damaged lifesaver out and hoping we cling on because that’s all we have. Since she’s expanding the series even further, that wish may or may not come true.
A redeemable factor in the jumble of words resides in triumphant world building by Higgins, but it’s too bad that her characters overshadow a potentially beautiful setting and the political buds that grew more and more interesting. It could have been great.





Review: Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield

Amelia Grace is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield

Release Date: July 5thth, 2012
Number of Pages: 304
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Source: Bought

This is a great read.  Becca has always longed to break free from her small hometown. But the discovery of an unidentified dead girl on the side of a dirt road sends the town–and Becca–into a tailspin. Unable to make sense of the violence of the outside world creeping into her backyard, Becca finds herself retreating inward, paralyzed from moving forward for the first time in her life. Short chapters detailing the last days of Amelia Anne Richardson’s life are intercut with Becca’s own summer as the parallel stories of two young women struggling with self-identity and relationships on the edge twist the reader closer and closer to the truth about Amelia’s death.

Wow. 

I admired the cover when I first bought this book. I hadn’t really read that much about it, 
but i was intrigued to discover what the book was about.

Well, I can say that I absolutely enjoyed it. First, the writing was absolutely amazing. 
It’s worth reading just for that! Kat Rosenfield created a story that was simply haunting and breathtaking. 
This book is simply more than a murder mystery, more than just some kind of coming-of-age
 (or un-coming-of-age, as it is presented). The book is about wanting to break free, 
wanting to live your own life, yet being scared in someway of the unknown. Being scared of losing those left behind. 

The book alternates between Rebecca’s life and Amelia Anne finale day. We see Becca trying to make sense of 
her fast approaching future out of her little town, of the death of this mysterious girl, and her struggling
 relationship with her boyfriend that will be left behind once she finally leaves. We see Amelia Anne trying to 
share her dream with her boyfriend, as she goes through her final day. I really found that having a glimpse at 
Amelia Anne final moment interesting. On the other end, Becca’s side of the story ended up being sometime 
confusing, as we aren’t always sure if she is telling us about the present or some kind of past events. 

Still, the book caught my attention from page one, with the amazing writing and beautiful storytelling. 
The murderer slightly surprised me. I didn’t really figure out exactly who the killer was, but I did find it 
logical and not that surprising after we finally learn what really happened.  The descriptions are simply 
vivid and bring easily to life the world and characters Kat Rosenfield has created. I highly recommend this 
book to fans of contemporary, if only for the writing. I was far from disappointed with this book and enjoyed
 every moment of it.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

23203106
Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.
Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.
What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying. (Goodreads)
Yet another book recently where I have not seen the twists or ending coming whatsoever, Wink Poppy Midnight tells the story of three high school students who get caught up in a crazy, heart-pounding plot. While it seems like it could be an innocent mystery, this is not a book to read right before bed – things get downright crazy. Tucholke cleverly takes the story in directions that will have you holding on for dear life as lies and truths begin to cut through the tension between Wink, Poppy, and Midnight. Perfect for fans of young adult thrillers.

Summary:
5 OUT OF 5

HardcoverUS288 pages
Published June 7th 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Forgotten by Cat Patrick U.K. Book cover
Summary
Each night when 16 year-old London Lane goes to sleep, her whole world disappears. In the morning, all that’s left is a note telling her about a day she can’t remember. The whole scenario doesn’t exactly make high school or dating that hot guy whose name she can’t seem to recall any easier. But when London starts experiencing disturbing visions she can’t make sense of, she realizes it’s time to learn a little more about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

Part psychological drama, part romance, and part mystery, this thought-provoking novel will inspire readers to consider the what-if’s in their own lives and recognize the power they have to control their destinies

My views on this Book:
I was absolutely intrigued by this concept from the moment I read the synopsis
the idea of forgetting your whole day at a certain time was scary and kept me curious as to why this sort of thing was to London. When Luke Henry starts at her school, she is immediately attracted to him(typical at first until you read further into the book) and is worried that she can’t see him in her future the same she foresees others(scary).  She assumes he must not be the guy for her and pushes him away even though she has immense feelings for him.  Finding strength she didn’t know existed and with the help of Luke, she starts to uncover her lost memories and discovers the real truth of her memory issues.  There are some really unexpected twists in the plot that really caught me off guard.  I was expecting a typical teen romance, but this turned into a bit of a psychological thriller and mystery which was above and beyond normal teen books.  


This is probably one of the best books I have read this year in the teen category.  It is unique and the writing is excellent.  There is a perfect balance between romance and mystery that draws you in and hits you when you least expect it. the mystery of London’s mind is what truly keeps you wanting more with each page you turn.  I am not going to give away the details of what London uncovers, but it does have an unexpected happy ending.  This is one creatively crafted story.  I can’t even compare it to anything I’ve read this year since it is so different than anything I have read so far. i wish there were to be a part two but according to the author, there will be none. still, i’m going to keep my hopes up that she will change her mind 🙂

                                                              Die for Me (Revenants #1)

4/5

Hardcover341 pages
Published May 10th 2011 by HarperTeen

In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier’s parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life–and memories–behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate’s guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he’s a revenant–an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

In this incandescent debut, newcomer Amy Plum has created a powerful paranormal mythology with immortal revenants. The Paris setting comes enchantingly alive as a relentless struggle between good and evil takes place in its streets. Rich with romance, atmosphere, and thrills, Die for Me will leave readers breathlessly awaiting its sequel

My Review:

Die For Me is an intricately written, engrossing, and haunting story that transports you right into the center or Paris as if you were there. I think due to its deeper underlying themes (death, depression, loneliness), it will be taken more seriously than a lot of teen paranormal novels out in the world. And Amy’s Revenants are by far the coolest monster/paranormal creature I’ve encountered in years.
This novel offers a realistic look at depression after a tragedy like losing both of your parents. As well as featuring the most swoon-worthy, yet slightly “weird” romantic relationship I’ve read about in a long time. I am, of course, eagerly awaiting book two.

3/5

Hardcover272 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by Point

What if the characters in a vampire novel left their world and came into yours?

Amy is in love with someone who doesn’t exist: Alexander Banks, the dashing hero in a popular series of vampire novels. Then one night, Amy meets a boy who bears an eerie resemblance to Alexander. In fact, he IS Alexander. He has escaped from the pages of the book and is in hot pursuit of a wicked vampire named Vigo. Together, Amy and Alexander set out to track Vigo and learn how and why Alexander crossed over. But when she and Alexander begin to fall for each other, Amy wonders if she even wants him to ever return to the realm of fiction. 

My Review:

The Vampire Stalker was a fast-paced, entertaining read with the pages easily flying by in no time at all! The novel may have had its faults but I did see Allison Van Diepen’s second foray into the supernatural genre as an improvement over Raven, which I’m glad to say. I may have been left with mixed feelings after reading The Vampire Stalker, but overall, it was a satisfying and enjoyable novel.


4/5

Hardcover272 pages
Published June 21st 2011 by Balzer & Bray
We all want to be remembered. Charlotte’s destiny is to be Forgotten… 

Charlotte’s best friend thinks Charlotte might be psychic. Her boyfriend thinks she’s cheating on him. But Charlotte knows what’s really wrong: She is one of the Forgotten, a kind of angel on earth, who feels the Need—a powerful, uncontrollable draw to help someone, usually a stranger. 

But Charlotte never wanted this responsibility. What she wants is to help her best friend, whose life is spiraling out of control. She wants to lie in her boyfriend’s arms forever. But as the Need grows stronger, it begins to take a dangerous toll on Charlotte. And who she was, is, and will become–her mark on this earth, her very existence–is in jeopardy of disappearing completely. 

Charlotte will be forced to choose: Should she embrace her fate as a Forgotten, a fate that promises to rip her from the lives of those she loves forever? Or is she willing to fight against her destiny–no matter how dark the consequences.

My Review:

Charlotte was a lovely character, always feeling the Need to help others and risking everything she had—sometimes even her own life—to make sure that people were saved. She’s always known that she for whatever reason has to help whoever calls out to her but now that she discovers the consequences of being so helpful, she desperately wants to stop and just live her own life. A Need So Beautiful will leave you just as breathless as its cover! Suzanne Young has offered a fresh, unique touch to the angel genre in what is easily her best novel to date so far! Just as Charlotte is constantly overcome with the Need to help others, you’ll be finding it impossibly difficult to put this book down!




4/5

Paperback318 pages
Published June 9th 2011 by Razorbill
Willow has spent most of her life as her mother’s sidekick in a popular Las Vegas hypnotism show. So when she and her mom move back to their sleepy southern hometown to start over, she thinks she’s in for a life of quiet normalcy. Except that her new life turns out to be anything but, when she kinda sorta hypnotizes Quinton, the hottest guy on the football team, to fall madly, deeply, head over heels in love with her. But what started out as an innocent way to make her best friend, Max, jealous soon gets way out of hand, and Willow begins to wonder if the mind – and more importantly, the heart – is something you can really control

My Review:This is what great YA fiction is all about! A cute romance, great family relationships, a story with a lot of heart, and a little supernatural twist.

Quinton was just too adorable as her hypnotized boyfriend. Never mind that she was using hypnosis to make him what she thought was her perfect boyfriend! It was too cute too see him take the smitten boyfriend to the extreme. I liked the storyline with Willow’s family a lot. It felt very real. Even though she, her mother, and her grandmother all clashed at times, you could tell there was a lot of love in their family.I also liked that the “mean girl” cheerleader really wasn’t that mean after all. Mia was a well-rounded character who actually added a lot to the story.




Paperback374 pages
Published January 6th 2011 by Quercus Publishing Plc

Grace meets enigmatic Ethan the night she’s planning to kill herself. The next morning she wakes up in a strange room with a table, chair, pens and paper. There’s nothing to do but write, and as she writes, Grace remembers the things she’s tried so hard to forget. 

The hazy memories lead Grace into a dark place where friendship, heartbreak and betrayal tangle together…

My Review: what I liked the most about the book, is the fact that its  about someone you wouldn’t want to relate to in a book. Someone you probably wouldn’t care about but somehow end up caring for, had you seen her in the street, you would pass her by. But you realize that there is so much more to her than meets the eye. Grace is worth reading about and her voice is  unique and yet relatable, and  you will not want to forget her an dher story. I would like to warn the readers of this book that there is some pretty graphic stuff in here
relating to sex, alcohol and self harming. it was overall a great read.



It starts off simply.

Draw a circle … place a dead leaf in the center … sprinkle some salt … recite a little Latin … add a drop of blood …

Maybe that last part isn’t exactly simple. Yet somehow it feels right to Silla Kennicott. And nothing in her life has felt remotely right since her parents’ horrific deaths. She’s willing to do anything to uncover the truth about her family—even try a few spells from the mysterious book that arrived on her doorstep … and spill some blood.

The book isn’t the only recent arrival in Silla’s life. There’s Nick Pardee, the new guy next door who may have seen Silla casting a spell. She’s not sure what he saw and is afraid to find out. But as they spend more time together, Silla realizes this may not be Nick’s first encounter with Blood Magic. Brought together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick can’t deny their attraction. And they can’t ignore the dark presence lurking nearby—waiting to reclaim the book and all its power.

Tessa Gratton’s intoxicating first novel will keep pulses racing, minds reeling, and pages turning right up to the very last drop of blood


Hardcover405 pages

Published May 24th 2011 by Random House Books for Young Readers


My Review: 
   BLOOD MAGIC brings a fresh insight into the world of magic. I’ve read plenty of books based on magic but Tessa’s writing breathed life within the pages of this book. From the past journal accounts of magic to the mystery surrounding the murders of Silla’s parents, this book bewitched me.I really did love Tessa Gratton’s writing style… and the dual perspectives between Nick and Silla along with old journal entries were just an added bonus that were brought to the table.Tessa Gratton’s debut novel is suspenseful and addictive in so many ways! Without a doubt, I shall be eagerly looking forward to The Blood Keeper, a companion novel to Blood Magic, which will be released next year! With a very original story line, Blood Magic will easily stand out amongst novels in the paranormal genre!
 
4 out of 5







5 out of 5

Hardcover459 pages
Published June 7th 2011 by Margaret K. McElderry 
Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba’s world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she’s a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.



When I first started reading Blood Red Road, I had this horrible feeling I wasn’t going to like the novel. You see, it’s written in dialect… and previously before, I had never read anything like it. I struggled a bit with the first thirty or so pages, trying to grasp the imperfect language that seemed far from being structured and polished. But after a certain point, getting completely lost in the story became suddenly very easy and soon, I seemed to be flying through the pages!

Many of the dystopian novels being released lately have focused more on the political aspects of a flawed society, but Blood Red Road is more focused on Saba trying to rescue her brother and the epic adventure she’ll have to partake to make this happen. Don’t get me wrong, we do learn about the cruel world Saba has been born into but there was never really a need to get into the major details unless it was required. The result is an action-packed novel filled with plenty of suspense and danger! 



4 out of 5

Hardcover420 pages
Published June 14th 2011 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
“Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have chosen me. Forever.”

Luce would die for Daniel. And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way. . . .

Luce is certain that something—or someone—in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history.

Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever.


Good series

Intellegently written. The story has grown along with the author. I like that the storyline has continued but it is building into a crescendo that we haven’t yet seen explode yet. I like how the book takes you through Luce’s past and you really get to see Luce and Daniels story unfold throughout history, but there are some flaws, some things that I don’t understand which have not been explained, albeit small, it took away from me fully understanding the story. Maybe I need to go back and read the bible, etc. although the author tries to clue you in. One point is why is Luce the key to the outcasts getting bcak into heaven? How is Daniels choice not to side, significant? Why not choose Heaven? Not sure why choosing changes anything between him and Luce. When you do find out, in the end, how Daniel/Luce curse came about, I still didn’t get why choosing love would make the Throne curse him. Aside from that, there are pieces of history that are swoon worthy. A great romance. Liked the writing style. The historical quality is intellegent and descriptive accurately.  there is a 4th book, So I am eager to see how this plays out.


4 out of 5

Hardcover336 pages
Published June 7th 2011 by St. Martin’s Press
I must say that I am sad to see the series end. This is one series that even before I was a book blogger that I was hooked on. Let me be the first to tell you that as a long time reader of Alyson Noel’s and a big fan of The Immortal series that this book ended nicely. All loose ends were tied. All questions, were answered. And the first chapter was so dynamic and strong that I sat reading this book in my office while at work! I know, bad Savannah! The first chapter was just wow. I knew once I started “glancing” at the book that I was in deep trouble. The first chapter has a very strong beginning, the reader sees Ever and Damen struggling in Summerland to find answers. What I like about this is the pacing and the plot line. The pacing was right on. I really liked that the reader got to go back to certain points in their history and re-connect with the present. It answers a whole lot of questions that I have always wondered, plus then some. It gave the reader a much broader history on Ever and Damen’s relationship. What also grabbed my attention in this book, is the lives they had in the past. Through out the series, we see several past lives, but this one, it was a SHOCKER! I was like,”OMG!” Gasping at my desk and looking by my office door to make sure no one heard me. Hehe. Ms. Noel did a fine job in bringing this element to life in the book. I felt every emotion, excitement, hurt, and anger while reading this. Simply fantastic! The characters were more developed. In this book, you finally see them learn and grow. At times through out the series like books 4/5, I got frustrated that they weren’t going anywhere. They were being stagnate. I was hoping for a change. Everlasting is the change of all changes. The characters finally develop in who they need to be in order to grasp their future! If you haven’t pick up this series you most definitely should! Not only will you fall in love with it, but it will give you an everlasting read worth reading. Am I happy with the way it ended? Yes. I think Ms. Noel did a mighty find job on clearing everything she needed to clear up in order to finish the series
3out of 5

PaperbackUK359 pages
Published April 1st 2011 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

The setting of the book moves to the UK as Sophie finally meets and goes to stay with her powerful father, striking a deal to take best friend Jenna with her. Being English, I always find different countries/author’s perceptions of what life is like here interesting, thankfully other than a few large words added to Sophie’s father’s vocabulary the book didn’t slip into any awful clichés. And I loved the setting of the large, beautiful, British mansion.

On her arrival Sophie meets Daisy and Nick and immediately knows that they are demons too. But demons can only be made and not born, and the spell to make one is meant to have been lost years ago, which leaves many concerning questions.

As the story is such an easy read you could easily dismiss it as perhaps slightly and predictable. But it really isn’t. There were a couple of plot turns that I did not see coming in the slightest. It was well written and perfectly thrilling.



5 out of 5

Hardcover453 pages
Published February 15th 2011 by HarperCollins / Katherine Tegen Books
Seventeen year old Ellie is your typical American teenager. Until she begins to have strange dreams and visions and then one night hears unusual noises in the dark. She learns of the existence of reapers. Evil beings that kill and steal people’s souls.
This coincides with the arrival of Will, who proclaims to be her very own Guardian Angel. Will tells her that she is in fact the Preliator, a powerful warrior reborn again and again over thousands of years into a mortal’s body. And that she is the only person that can fight and stop the evil reapers.There seems to be a theme for reincarnation stories lately, as this is the third one I’ve read so far this year. All with young women as the leads. I have to say I quite like them and in each book have been interested to see how the past affects the present day character.Some of the best parts of the novel were the fight scenes. There are some fantastic fight sequences. In particular, the final battle on a liner in the middle of the ocean was inspired. And it will no doubt keep you on the edge of your seat.The love story in the book is tender and engaging. Nothing adds to the edge of a romance like forbidden love and I found my heart squeezing at some of the scenes.

Hardcover435 pages
Published January 4th 2011 by HarperTeen

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.
Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.
As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?
Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

My Review:
I really, really, really enjoyed this book. It’s quintessntially American, and essentially a romance set in high school, with Clara believing her destiny lies with Christian but then somehow managing to fall in love with Tucker. The interaction between the students is handled brilliantly, and the underlying angel story, in which Clara discovers she’s an angel, learns her destiny and how to fly, is muted and understated superbly. Full of really engaging, lovely characters and some sparkling dialogue, you just know that the story is not going to be resolved in one sitting, and that there is, thankfully, more to come. Sensational writing, a terrific story, wonderfully told. Certainly the very best angel story I’ve ever read.

4 out of 5







4 out of 5
My Soul to Keep is a thrilling read that kept my heart in my throat and tears at the edge of my eyes through most of it. This book recaptured the magic that was somehow missing in the second book in this series, they are all good but the first and the third left goosebumps on my skin.

Kaylee has grown a lot over just three books and her pain and heart ache are a living and breathing thing that made my throat catch with her. She felt real in a way that some authors just cant do. Even the non main characters felt like they could reach out of the book.

The story itself was a lead on from the previous book – not the story but the consequences of what happened – and introduced several new and exiting characters. Several parts of this story were obvious, I wont tell you which ;D, but others caught me entirely by surprise.

One of the things I love about these books is the total lack of super powers or sudden appearance of hidden powers to save the day, they live on chance and their whits, or they would die for the lack of them. This gives a more intense story where you really don’t know who will walk away and who won’t. 




4 out of 5
I picked up this book expecting it to be another book with the same happy-everyone’s in love-ending. But after reading the first chapters i didn’t want to put it down. Unlike most YA books this has brought some more original supernatural beings into the plot suchas Reapers and taken it away from the vampires and werewolves, which have become very popular.

The plot is not complicated and Rachel Vincent creates some very unexpected twist which leave you eager to read more. The characters are relateable and very down to earth and they compliment eachothers different personalities well. My favourite character has to be Emma because she is always looking to enjoy life and is sometimes the complete opposite of Kaylee.

When i got this book i read it in a day and enjoyed it so much that as soon as i finished i started reading it al over again. I have given it to many of my friends and they have all seemed to have enjoyed it as much as i have. Without a doubt this is one of my favourite books and i would recommend it to anyone who likes a good mystery. 




5 out of 5

Texas Gothic

I had no idea what to expect when I started reading this book, I just knew that it was going to have magic and I do love a great book with magic and witches, there’s not many out there, so I ended up loving it way more than I thought I would. It was surprisingly fun and had me laughing out loud several times

Level-headed, responsible Amy Goodnight is a reluctant witch in a family of witches. While Amy’s older sister Phin and their Aunt Hyacinth may dabble in spells and potion-making, Amy is concerned mostly with hiding her eccentric family from the eyes of a judgmental, proper, Texan society. When accidents begin befalling workers on McCulloch Ranch, neighbor to Goodnight Ranch, they are blamed on a local ghost, which Amy finds curious and unnerving. But the events become even more unsettling when a ghost shows up at the foot of Amy’s bed, demanding to be found. With the help of Phin, and sexy cowboy Ben McCulloch, Amy must solve the mystery of the ghost, right wrongs, and save the day—maybe even with a little bit of magic.
this book reminded me of the movie Practical Magic with Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman. It’s a mix of fun, witchiness, and a little bit of scary. I really like Amy. The opening chapters have her running around in her underwear chasing a cow—she’s a hoot! That boy is one sexy cowboy. However, Amy and Ben make up for the others’ lack of characterization with flying sexual tension. it was a great read. i would recommend this book to everyone.

Bad Taste in Boys

Someone’s been a very bad zombie.

Kate Grable is horrified to find out that the football coach has given the team steroids. Worse yet, the steroids are having an unexpected effect, turning hot gridiron hunks into mindless flesh-eating zombies. No one is safe–not her cute crush Aaron, not her dorky brother, Jonah . . . not even Kate!

She’s got to find an antidote–before her entire high school ends up eating each other. So Kate, her best girlfriend, Rocky, and Aaron stage a frantic battle to save their town. . . and stay hormonally human.
 5 out of 5


My Review: BAD TASTE IN BOYS doesn’t take itself very seriously. It’s kind of a zombie spoof with a kickass story and a voice that takes the cake. Kate Grable is a nearly-reformed geek with razor sharp wit. She’s hilarious, whether she’s poking fun at the numbskulls in her school or herself. Scenes that would otherwise be terrifying (hello, attack of the zombified football team) have you cracking up as she stops to remark about the absurdity of the situation (hello, appendages falling off)–much in the same way audiences might comment when they’re watching zombie movies. 


4 out of 5


then.

When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their love moved from a curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.

That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.

Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment – a moment of death or life, farewell or forever




My Review:
   I was excited to read Forever but sadly I didn’t love it as much as I loved Shiver and Linger.  I felt the beginning of the book was a very long summary of the first two books. I liked how Cole and Isabel’s relationship developed better than Sam and Grace’s. We know Sam and Grace love each other and the only thing stopping them from being together is Grace being a wolf. Nothing else develops between them because is established since book one that they are going to end up together. It was a great finale book in the wolves of Mercy falls. It had the same elements as the first two, romance, and paranormal. but in this third and final book had more action, which i enjoyed. Maggie is an excellent writer, her writing is poetic and has a great flow to it that immediately draws you in. The characters are also amazing. If you are a fan of this series, i definitely recommend this book to everyone. it’s always sad to see your favorite books come to an end 😦

5 out of 5

Angel Burn (Angel Trilogy #1)

Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow than Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed, romantic trilogy, L..A. Weatherly sends readers on a thrill-ride of a road trip – and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

They’re out for your soul . . . and they don’t have heaven in mind.
My Review:This book was fantastic.  A must read!  The characters really grabbed my attention and emotions right from the start.The chemistry between him and Willow was so powerful, you could literally see it on the page! I swear, I was smiling ear to ear whenever I read the scenes between them! Angel Burn has everything you need, it was thrilling and action-packed, and don’t forget forbidden love!

 this is a new twist in the whole heavnely angel theme going on. this is not about fallen angels, but angels who kill to survive in the human world. i loved her take on it and the characters in the book. i can’t wait for the second book to come out. hope it is as good as the first one 🙂



4 out of 5

Starcrossed (Starcrossed #1)

How do you defy destiny?
Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.
As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

My Review: 
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini was an amazing book, it was very well written and thought out and was an amazing debut novel and series.Gripping, haunting, and completely addicting, Starcrossed is one of those books where we try to set it aside after reading only a couple chapters in an attempt to keep us from finishing too quickly. Stracrossed is a gripping book, giving us a very interesting story. i love greek mythology and how she used it with a modern touch. it gives you a mixer of romance, curiosity and mysteries. From the very first pages it captivates you, leaving you in suspense until you turn to the next page. Its fast-paced most of the time and I think is a page-turner for sure, keeps people reading anyway. The writing style is descriptive; the characters are very well developed, so you can feel their personalities and how they add something to the story. Angelini manages to give them their demi-gods qualities but they still are teenagers, which is always good because readers like to connect with the characters. this is a must read for those who love greek myths. it’s something refreshing from all the vampire and werewolves books out there.


5 out of 5
Sarah Burke is just about perfect. She’s got killer blue eyes, gorgeous blond hair, and impeccable grades. There’s just one tiny-all right, enormous-flaw: her nose. But even that’s not so bad. Sarah’s got the best best friend and big goals for print journalism fame.

On the first day of senior year, Rock Conway walks into her journalism class and, well, rocks her world. Problem is, her best friend, Kristen, falls for him too. And when Rock and Kristen stand together, it’s like Barbie and Ken come to life. So when Kristen begs Sarah to help her nab Rock, Sarah does the only thing a best friend can do-she agrees. For someone so smart, what was she thinking?

My Review:

Lara Chapman’s debut is delightful and engaging. I fell in love with every single page.After being caught up with several series books, this stand alone was a refreshing change of pace.Not even five pages into the story, I was already laughing my head off. The humor factor of this book is off the charts. Lara Chapman wrote Flawless in an easy to understand, conversational way that makes it easy for readers to breeze into the story.FLAWLESS offers a story about friendship, love, betrayal, and of course the most important, loyalty! It was definitely a great debut novel from Lara Chapman. Even with the predictable story line, an easy following of words and a I-saw-this-coming-of-an ending, I loved this story through-and-through and the message it sent to young readers: Be happy with who you are, rather than what you look like. 


3 out of 5

Vampire Crush

I swear, my life was always totally normal.

Normal house, normal family, normal school. My looks are average, I don’t have any superpowers, no one’s showing up to tell me I’m a princess—you get the picture. But when my junior year started, something not normal happened. There were new kids at school . . . new kids with a wardrobe straight out of a 19th-century romance novel, and an inexplicable desire to stay at school until sundown.
And on top of that, James Hallowell showed up. James, who stole my sandwiches in fourth grade and teased me mercilessly through middle school. James, who now seems to have the power to make my heart race any time he comes near.
But something weird is going on. Because James rarely goes out during the day. And he seems stronger than your typical guy. And he knows the new kids, all of whom seem to be harboring some kind of deep secret. . . .

My Review:  I really enjoyed reading Vampire Crush and found it SUPER funny. Some parts were predictable, but you couldn’t help but keep reading just to figure out exactly how it would all play out. 

Sophie was smart and funny and dedicated herself to any assignment that was given to her. Especially the one where she had to get to know the new students. The ones who barely acknowledged her and didn’t even give her a second glance. This peeked her curiosity and she started digging deeper into their lives and trying to show everyone that something just isn’t right about them. The more she kept digging into the lives of the new students, she also found herself in a lot of heat. Then she finds out James, her childhood neighbor who she crushed on and hated at the same time, is back in town and is actually friends with the new students.

I love James! The more I kept reading and finding out about James’ life, the more I felt for him. He has been through so much and made one mistake trying to fit in and find a purpose in life. But it was also a mistake that brings him back into Sophie’s life and makes him realize just how special and important Sophie is to him.
I hope that Vampire Crush is not the end of Sophie and James story. I laughed so hard at some of the things that came out of Sophie’s mouth and I found myself at the edge of my seat whenever Vlad was up to one of his tricks. He was the perfect bad guy and I think A.M. Robinson did an excellent job creating him.
From the funny characters to the romance building between Sophie and James, I couldn’t help but think about Vampire Crush all day, until I was finally done reading it. I am looking forward to reading any future books by A.M. Robinson. Great Read!

                                                                          4 out of 5

Paisley Tillery is the drummer for a country rock band. If they can make it to the stage at the Texapalooza music fest, then Paisley will be closer to her dream of a career in music and a ticket out of her small Texas town.
Drumming and music are what Paisley has always wanted. Until the band gets a new lead singer, the boy from Paradise, Texas. With Paradise in her life, what Paisley wants, and what she needs, complicate her dreams coming true.

My Review: I really liked the rural setting and the characters from the start. I found myself smirking and laughing a little bit right along with them, that is how real the characters were to me. One thing that I really liked about this book is that even though the main story was focused on Paisley and Paradise, I could not help but really get into the other characters. I found the stories of Paisley’s family even intriguing. Paradise wasn’t a typical teen romance for me. There were no pretty, popular girls to compete with, no triangles, nothing supernatural. Just a  girl knowing her dream and working her tail off to achieve it. What happens along the way is just extra, even though it makes for a great story.  It was all so connected and so fluid. It really made it easy to become immersed into this little Texas town. 


4 out of 5

Genre: YA historical fiction
Pages: 320 (hardcover)
To Be Published: May 24th, 2011 by Atheneum
Recommended for: fans of the Gemma Doyle trilogy, fans of adventure and historical fiction

Wrapped is a quick read,  fast-paced and lighthearted and guaranteed to coax a smile or two out of most everyone.  I was immediately drawn in by that beautiful cover illustration, and have to say that it suits the book perfectly.  This is a historical YA novel (set in Regency England) with echoes of fantasy and myth, but then again it has a little bit of everything: mystery, intrigue, humor, and romance.  Not to mention a cool background in Egyptology and a mummy’s curse.

I loved solving the mysteries alongside Agnes and her helpful male companion. Caedmon. (Personally, I think any guy who can read hieroglyphics is sexy. JSYK.)  The unlikely pair make a great team and uncovered secrets they were never meant to find. The relationship between the two was very believable and I enjoyed watching them grow individually and together. Agnes is her own person and has taken it upon herself to be the best that she can be. She is determined, motivated, and somewhat stubborn, but she isn’t about to let an opportunity for adventure pass her by.Also, I would like to congratulate the illustrators on doing a marvellous job with this book. I really love the design of the cover. It’s a beautiful illustration, and it really fits with the general light-hearted and aimed at middlegraders style of the book.


4 out of 5


Violet finds herself in the midst of such doings as her mother has become a famous ‘medium’ and is wanted at many of society’s soirees and get togethers to perform seances or others forms of entertainment for the guests.  Violet, unsure of her place in society, and with a tendency to believe she is second in beauty and intelligence to her mother, follows her every demand even though she is disturbed by the lies she has told people.  Violet is one of those characters with whom you can’t help but identify and empathize as she deals with an uptight mother and learns to navigate the difficult paths of society.  You feel every slight and every rejection along with her, and really want her to succeed in everything she does.  She just kind of creeps under you skin and before you know it, you want her to have everything.  I really enjoyed her character and loved her strength and her courage to do what she had to do despite her living conditions and her mother.  She had an uncanny eye to pick out people who would help her and knew who would be trouble in her life.  Her closest friend, Elizabeth, is also someone I adored, and the two of them created a lot of trouble.  Through their eyes, you got a very good glimpse of both sides of society and could compare both lives.  
Haunting Violet is an enjoyable historical fantasy full of mystery and romance. Though it was rather predictable which of her two love interests Violet would choose, I enjoyed the mystery which kept me guessing until the end. Overall it was a fun read and I really liked that it was a standalone novel with a satisfying conclusion, which is something I’d like to see more of in young adult fiction
Alyxandra Harvey crafts such brilliant stories and (as with the Drake Chronicles books) I love the relationships between her characters so, so much that I almost hate for the book to be over – except that they all find such brilliant resolutions that I can’t really hate it.



Title: Born at Midnight (Book 1)
Author: C.C. Hunter
Pages: 416
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: March 29, 2011


One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.
Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart. 
Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs…



Born at Midnight is an evenly-paced, descriptive coming-of-age story that holds nothing back. Its otherworldly environment sustains a well-rounded cast of characters and well-developed bonds that emanate a sense of safety and at the same time holds an air of suspense. The intricate weaving of paranormal aspects and realism, is flawlessly executed by Hunter. I loved the characters, especially Kylie. I’m in awe of C.C.’s writing style and character development. I can’t wait to read the next one!



Summary:  When Dana is invited to Faerie to be officially presented at the Seelie Court, it’s no easy decision. After all, everyone knows Titania, the Seelie Queen, wants her dead. But Titania claims not to be the one behind the death threats; and her son, Prince Henry, makes the decision a whole lot easier when he suggests Dana might be arrested for (supposedly) conspiring with her aunt Grace to usurp the Seelie throne. So she and her father better do as they’re told…
The journey through Faerie is long – and treacherous. Dana thought it would be a good idea to have friends along, but her sort-of-boyfriend Ethan and her bodyguard’s son, Keane, just can’t seem to get along, and Kimber’s crush on Keane isn’t making things any easier. When a violent attack separates Dana from their caravan, the sexy Erlking saves her just in the nick of time… and makes it clear that he hasn’t given up on making her his own.
Arriving at Titania’s beautiful palace should be a relief. But Dana is soon implicated in an assassination attempt against Titania’s niece, and is suddenly a fugitive, forced to leave her father behind as she and her friends flee for her lives. Will she be able to prove her innocence before the forces of the Seelie Court catch up with her? Or, worse, the Erlking? And will she save her father before he pays the ultimate price in her stead?

My Review: Sirensong is the third book from the Faeriwalker Series by Jenna Black. If you are a fan of the series, you would definitely enjoy this book.  
I loved Black’s writing in this, especially her descriptions of Faerie. As you all know, I love fey books, so i’ve heard quite a lot of descriptions about Faerie and this one sounds just as fascinating as the other one! Magic shortcuts, Stone Hedge-esque escapes, and green ladies with horrible toll payments! The setting was perfect for the next step in Dana’s journey, especially since it was so tense and new to her. Traveling with the queen’s son, who in turn hates pretty much everyone ever, definitely brought on a lot of questions as to who exactly her enemies were, which I love that it is never entirely clear.
I thought this was the best of the series and although I believe this in the final chapter in Dana’s story, I would really like to revisit the characters here again.  Dana really grows in this last book and even though she still has her issues with her alcoholic mother and trusting others, she finally learns she has friends that she can lean on.  You can see her despair and anger while she deals with her mother and the magical gifts she develops.  It is really bittersweet at the end and will make you wish it hadn’t ended quite yet.



Summary: Luc Cain was born and raised in Hell, but he isn’t feeling as demonic as usual lately—thanks to Frannie Cavanaugh and the unique power she never realized she had. But you can’t desert Hell without consequences, and suddenly Frannie and Luc find themselves targeted by the same demons who used to be Luc’s allies.
Left with few options, Frannie and Luc accept the protection of Heaven and one of its most powerful angels, Gabe. Unfortunately, Luc isn’t the only one affected by Frannie, and it isn’t long before Gabe realizes that being around her is too…tempting. Rather than risk losing his wings, he leaves Frannie and Luc under the protection of her recently-acquired guardian angel.
Which would be fine, but Gabe is barely out the door before an assortment of demons appears—and they’re not leaving without dragging Luc back to Hell with them. Hell won’t give up and Heaven won’t give in. Frannie’s guardian exercises all the power he has to keep them away, but the demons are willing to hurt anyone close to Frannie in order to get what they want. It will take everything she has and then some to stay out of Hell’s grasp.
And not everyone will get out of it alive.

My Review:
   Personal Demons was a steamy, passionate ride and Original Sin perfected it. Frannie, Luc, and the gang are back and flourish with an unique and page-turning plot. The enemies are deliciously bad, the good guys are flawed and the dual points of view were just as good the second time around. Original Sin is everything I wanted in a sequel and more!Lisa Desrochers is pure genius. I don’t think I can muster up the words to express how much I loved and enjoyed reading Original Sin. The Personal Demons series is smokin’ hot and a must read for YA lovers! Original Sin makes you feel sad, happy, angry, shocked, and excited all in one book! Lisa’s writing is truly amazing and I felt every word and scene as the characters did.

I’m team Luc all the way, but when Gabe left Frannie it was sad, because she loves Gabe too. Although Frannie knows that nothing can come between her and Luc, she still has that connection to Gabe and she feels as if there is a piece of her missing. I really enjoy the emotion Lisa brought into Original Sin. You feel more of the sadness and pain than you do in the first book, and although you don’t WANT sadness and pain, it adds so much to Luc and Frannie’s incredible journey.
A couple new characters are introduced. There is Lili, a shy and reserved type of girl who moves into Luc’s neighborhood, and Rhenorian, a demon set on bringing Luc back to Hell. Then there is Frannie’s new guardian angel, whose name must not be spoken of because it will spoil the first book. This angel is happy to be helping Frannie and Luc.or maybe just Frannie, until he meets Lili and even he can’t seem to focus on what his duties are.
I loved all the characters, new and old, in this book. There were plenty of demons and I love how they are described in such detail.so much I feel like I am in the book facing them myself! Sometimes I think its hard to picture a character as the author would see them, but when it is done with Lisa’s precision, its perfecto!
I also don’t know if I’ve mentioned that Luc is totally hot *swoon*. I’m a sucker for bad boys and if you were team Gabe in Personal Demons, I think that Original Sin will give you a run for your money.well part of the book anyways, just wait until the second half!!
Original Sin is filled with steamy relationships, crazy twists, action, and shocking outcomes. I really rate this book a million stars out of 5, haha, but 5 is all I can fit! I CAN’T wait for the next book and I hope you YA lovers pick up your copy of Personal Demons and Original Sin.

What’s a girl to do when meeting The One means she’s cursed to die a horrible death?

Life hasn’t been easy on sixteen-year-old Emma Connor, so a new start in New York may be just the change she needs. But the posh Upper East Side prep school she has to attend? Not so much. Friendly faces are few and far between, except for one that she’s irresistibly drawn to—Brendan Salinger, the guy with the rock-star good looks and the richest kid in school, who might just be her very own white knight.
But even when Brendan inexplicably turns cold, Emma can’t stop staring. Ever since she laid eyes on him, strange things have been happening. Streetlamps go out wherever she walks, and Emma’s been having the oddest dreams: visions of herself in past lives—visions that warn her to stay away from Brendan. Or else.


My Review:
  Spellbound is a beautiful, modern day fairy tale. I was spellbound by this ‘lost’ love story between Emma and Brendan. Emma Connor, a smart, beautiful girl, definitely hasn’t had a fairy tale life. She goes to live with her Aunt Christine in New York, and there she starts a new life at the private school, Vincent Academy-a rich, upper class society. All Emma wanted was to keep a low profile and make it through her last two years, but her destiny walks through the door of her English class as Brendan Salinger, a gorgeous, athletic, rich, and popular guy. Spellbound was an amazing read. I truly enjoyed seeing Emma, Brendan, and all the teen characters acting and talking like the real-today-teens. It pulled me right into their lives. This story had an incredibly strong plot that held me captive. Emma and Brendan’s relationship is wonderful. I so love Brendan for how he adored and protected Emma, and Emma for her love for Brenda-to not give up on it no matter what. With the way this story ended, I’m confident there will be a second book to Spellbound. There is also a play list at the end of the book which I really like. You get to see more of Brendan and Emma’s personal feelings and emotions for each other in the music they listen to. Spellbound is a must, must read!!! The romance in Spellbound is breathtaking!! Thank you Carla Lynn Shultz for this awesome novel.

Everyone has secrets.
Even best friends.
Swirling black descends like ravens, large enough to block the glow of the streetlights. A dull roar starts like a train on the ‘L’, a far-away rumbling that grows louder as it pulls closer, until it’s directly overhead and you feel it in your chest, except this doesn’t pass you by. Verity, white-faced and eyes blazing, shouts through the din, “Run, Mo!”
Mo Fitzgerald knows about secrets. But when she witnesses her best friend’s murder, she discovers Verity was hiding things she never could have guessed. To find the answers she needs and the vengeance she craves, Mo—quiet, ordinary, unmagical Mo—will have to enter a world of raw magic and shifting alliances. And she’ll have to choose between two very different, equally dangerous guys—protective, duty-bound Colin and brash, mysterious Luc. One wants to save her, one wants to claim her. Which would you choose?

My Review:

 I really fell into this book. The ending was great and really got me hooked. I really loved reading throughout the whole story and following Mo steps. She is one brave girl.

First let me just say that this story line was amazing! I loved how easy it was to get into because of the the immediate action the reader is thrown in. As soon as you begin reading this book, you are pulled into this world and you are fighting. I really loved Mo. She reminded me of myself because of how insecure she was. I love that about her. It made her character even more real to the reader because of her flaws. She wasn’t strong or out there. She is simple girl caught in a war of a different worlds. What I also liked is how Mo is in so much trouble in both worlds. One with her Uncle and his bad dealings and one with her best friend and bad magic. It all makes the story juicy and exciting to read. No matter where Mo went, troubled always followed.

  

The love interest in this book I liked as well. I love how both love interest are from two different worlds. It makes it much more interesting. It also shows you just how much Mo is caught between these guys. I like that she doesn’t put herself out there. Both of them fall for her genuinely cause she is a sweet girl.

Now the ending. For me, I love reading paranormal books. I love magic and all the cool stuff that goes with it. But I especially love it when a normal person, who has no power whats so ever comes out on top. I love that her power is selflessness. When I was reading that part in the book, it gave me goosebumps. She made the biggest selflessness act of all, that I smiled and just kept on reading. I love that while no magic occurred, she changed everything with one simple act.


Vi knows the Rule: Girls don’t walk with boys, and they never even thinkabout kissing them. But no one makes Vi want to break the Rules more than Zenn…and since the Thinkers have chosen him as Vi’s future match, how much trouble can one kiss cause? The Thinkers may have brainwashed the rest of the population, but Vi is determined to think for herself.

But the Thinkers are unusually persuasive, and they’re set on convincing Vi to become one of them…starting by brainwashing Zenn. Vi can’t leave Zenn in the Thinkers’ hands, but she’s wary of joining the rebellion, especially since that means teaming up with Jag. Jag is egotistical, charismatic, and dangerous–everything Zenn’s not. Vi can’t quite trust Jag and can’t quite resist him, but she also can’t give up on Zenn.

This is a game of control or be controlled. And Vi has no choice but to play.


My Review:
  This was a dystopian novel, now I know that many people are saying that they are getting tired of dystopian but I cannot understand how! They are all so different! This book was no different! It was dystopian through the use of technology which I hadn’t experienced before in a book. Basically the population was being brainwashed through transmissions that they are forced to listen to while sleeping. After her father is taken and her sister disappears she stops listening and basically stops following some of the rules so she is considered a rebel and a “threat.” I loved Vi’s personality! She was kick-ass and adventurous, as well as having a soft side. I also liked her drive and her want to help people, not control them. There were also some things that I would have never expected! I like when I can’t see things coming. And these REALLY surprised me. Lastly and most importantly Jag!!!!!! He’s not really the typical bad boy of fiction nowadays which I really, really appreciate. But he does have that edge that draws you in. Sooo sexy. I really liked their banter and story. OMG that ending, are you kidding me Elena Johnson!!!! Really? I am dying for the sequel! Overall an amazing debut and a great addition to the dystopian genre. Also that cover.. Love it!